‘The Strangers: Prey At Night’ Releasing A Killer Soundtrack

March 8, 2018

Written by Kelli Marchman McNeely

Kelli Marchman McNeely is the owner of HorrorFuel.com. She is an Executive Producer of "13 Slays Till Christmas" which is out on Digital and DVD and now streaming on Tubi. She has several other films in the works. Kelli is an animal lover and a true horror addict since the age of 9 when she saw Friday the 13th. Email: horrorfuelinfo@gmail.com

What’s better than a great movie? A great movie with a great soundtrack! Fans are about to get a truly terrifying film and a scary good soundtrack with  The Strangers: Prey At Night.
Following the theatrical release of  The Strangers: Prey At Night on March 9, 2018, the original Motion Picture Soundtrack will arrive digitally on March 23rd, followed by its CD release on April 13th.

The album features original music composed by Adrian Johnston (Becoming Jane, Brideshead Revisited).

Directed by Johannes Roberts (interview), The Strangers: Prey At Night is the follow-up to Bryan Bertino’s 2008 hit film that introduced us to a trio of mask-wearing killers known as The Man in the Mask, Pinup Girl, and Dollface. Now, they’re back for more.
In the film, “A road trip to visit relatives takes a dangerous turn when a family arrives at a secluded mobile home park that’s mysteriously deserted – until three masked psychopaths show up.”
Christina Hendricks, Martin Henderson, and Bailee Madison star.
I had an idea that once we reach Gatlin Lake, just as the strangers are tuning into radio pop from yesteryear, so too should the scoring sensibilities get occasionally dialed across the decades,” said composer Johnston. “I also wanted to treat it as much as possible as a live event, but also incorporating certain ‘musique concrete’ techniques, reverse tape, loops, cut ups etc.”
Adrian Johnston’s film career began after he became known for live multi-instrumental performances of his new scores for classic silent movies across Europe and USA. His first feature commission was “Jude” in 1996. Other film credits include “Becoming Jane” and “Kinky Boots”.
Johnston thought out of the box in recording the music for The Strangers: Prey At Night.  “The recording sessions took place at night in an incredibly atmospheric (deconsecrated) chapel, centuries old,” he described.  “I projected the film onto a 30-foot high paper screen and improvised to picture, mixing acoustic instruments, vintage synths, and organs. There were no nearby neighbors to disturb so I was able to get the entire building thrumming with the cacophony.”
In addition to Johnston’s score, the soundtrack features classic tracks by Kim Wilde, Bonnie Tyler, and Air Supply.


1. Kids in America — Performed by Kim Wilde
2. The Strangers Prey At Night
3. Gatlin Lake Getaway Welcomes You!
4. Is Tamara Home?
5. Is Somebody There?
6. Live It Up — Performed by Mental As Anything
7. Bathroom Assault
8. Under Siege
9. On The Run
10. But We’ve Just Started
11. Cambodia — Performed by Kim Wilde
12. Hunted
13. Remember That Time?
14. Call 911
15. Total Eclipse of The Heart — Performed by Bonnie Tyler
16. Pulled To Safety
17. The Sheriff
18. Inferno
19. Making Love Out Of Nothing At All — Performed by Air Supply
20. The Bridge
21. Deliverance
22. End Titles
23. Bonus TrackYouT
Varèse Sarabande will release The Strangers: Prey At Night – Original Motion Picture Soundtrack digitally on March 23, 2018 and on CD April 13, 2018.
Follow Varèse Sarabande on Twitter, YouTube, Spotify, Facebook and visit the website for more on this soundtrack and others.
Don’t Miss The Strangers: Prey At Night in theaters March 9, 2018.

Share This Article

You May Also Like…