The Belko Experiment Announces Soundtrack Release Featuring Tyler Bates

March 16, 2017

Written by Kelli Marchman McNeely

Kelli Marchman McNeely is the owner of She is an Executive Producer of "13 Slays Till Christmas" which is out on Digital and DVD and now streaming on Tubi. She has several other films in the works. Kelli is an animal lover and a true horror addict since the age of 9 when she saw Friday the 13th. Email:

What’s better than a great movie? A great movie with an amazing soundtrack and that is exactly what The Belko Experiment has.
Written by James Gunn and directed by Greg McLean, the film’s soundtrack features original music by the incredibly talented composer, Tyler Bates who also created music for the soundtracks of Guardians of the Galaxy and John Wick, as well as over sixty other films, series, and games.
The Belko Experiment’s soundtrack also includes original performances of “California Dreamin’ (Latin)” by Gabriela Terán, “Yo Vivire (I Will Survive)” by José Prieto, and “California Dreamin’ (Rock)” by Tyler Bates, Gilberto Cerezo, Dave Lombardo & Rani Sharone.
From the Press Release:
(January XX, 2017 – Los Angeles, CA) – Lakeshore Records will release THE BELKO EXPERIMENT Original Motion Picture Soundtrack digitally and on CD on March 17, 2017. The album contains original music by Tyler Bates (JOHN WICK, GUARDIANS OF THE GALAXY).  Currently available digitally is the single “California Dreamin’ (Latin)” performed by Gabriela Terán.  On February 10, the label will release a digital single of “Yo Vivire (I Will Survive)” performed by José Prieto. The Orion Pictures’ film will be released by BH Tilt on March 17th, 2017.
“I read the script several years ago when James Gunn wrote it, but once Greg McLean showed a cut of the film, it sparked an interesting approach to scoring it than I had previously imagined: disturbing and emotional, yet non-orchestral,” Bates described.  “Greg kept the incredibly dark sense of humor beneath the violence, which in turn kept me focused on the narrative.”
Written by the acclaimed writer/director James Gunn (GUARDIANS OF THE GALAXY, SLITHER) and directed by Greg McLean (creator of the WOLF CREEK franchise), THE BELKO EXPERIMENTis a twisted social experiment, where a group of 80 Americans are locked in their high-rise corporate office in Bogota, Colombia and ordered by an unknown voice coming from the company’s intercom system to participate in a deadly game of kill or be killed.
From Orion Pictures, THE BELKO EXPERIMENT stars John Gallagher, Jr. (THE NEWSROOM, 10 CLOVERFIELD LANE), Tony Goldwyn (SCANDAL), John C. McGinley (STAN AGAINST EVIL, SCRUBS), Adria Arjona (TRUE DETECTIVE), Josh Brener (SILICON VALLEY) and Michael Rooker (GUARDIANS OF THE GALAXY), Sean Gunn (GUARDIANS OF THE GALAXY) and Melonie Diaz (FRUITVALE STATION). The film was directed by Greg McLean and produced by James Gunn and Peter Safran (THE CONJURING 1&2, ANNABELLE).
“I first addressed the initial ‘lock-down’ sequence to establish an interesting tonal approach as the characters are initially shocked, then panicked, descending into denial, and ultimately transitioning into survival mode.  That particular sequence is where the seeds of story-telling through the music are planted,” Bates described.
Set in Bogota, Colombia, the film’s soundtrack also features two classic 70s tracks reimagined and translated into Spanish: “California Dreamin’ (Latin)” performed by Gabriela Terán and “Yo Vivire (I Will Survive)” performed by José Prieto.  Also featured on the album is a rock version of “California Dreamin’” performed by an all-star ensemble with Bates on guitar, Gilberto Cerezo (Kinky), Dave Lombardo (Slayer, Suicidal Tendencies) on drums, and Rani Sharone (Stolen Babies) on bass.
Orion Pictures presents THE BELKO EXPERIMENT in theaters on March 17, 2017.  Lakeshore Records will release THE BELKO EXPERIMENT Original Motion Picture Soundtrack digitally and on CD March 17, 2017.
The Belko Experiment, executive produced by Jason Blum, boasts an impressive cast that includes Josh Brener, Tony Goldwyn, John Gallagher Jr. , Sean Gunn , John C. McGinley , Adria Arjona, Brent Sexton , Melonie Diaz , Abraham Benrubi, David Dastmalchain, Owain Yeoman, Rusty Schwimmer, and Michael Rooker.
Official Synopsis:
In a twisted social experiment, 80 Americans are locked in their high-rise corporate office in Bogotá, Colombia and ordered by an unknown voice coming from the company’s intercom system to participate in a deadly game of kill or be killed.
Don’t miss The Belko Experiment in theaters nationwide on March 17, 2017 from Orion and BHTilt. Pick up your copy of the soundtrack on CD, digital, or on iTunes that same day.

Share This Article

You May Also Like…