CD Review: Killection Lordi (2020)

February 11, 2020

Written by DanXIII

Daniel XIII; the result of an arcane ritual involving a King Diamond album, a box of Count Chocula, and a copy of Swank magazine, is a screenwriter, director, producer, actor, artist, and reviewer of fright flicks…Who hates ya baby?

Lordi; those monsters of metal have entertained us hard rockin’ horror hounds for years… I mean these mother fuckers were created for us, by one of our own… and they are glorious ghouls one and all (and come the fuck on; how can you not adore a rippin’ guitar solo performed by a mummy)!

Now, I know there are some of you out there who may not know just who, or more appropriately what, the fuck I am talking about, so here’s a lil’ visual aid…



Friggin’ wild, right? Well let me tell ya, they play music as flat out awesome as they look… but after a myriad of albums containing creepy collections of cacophonous creations, Lordi may have topped themselves with their latest offering; Killection an alternate reality greatest hits from many decades the band never actually existed in…

The key here cats n’ creeps is variety! Over the length of 15 terror tracks we get a heady mix of various rock styles and radio-style skits that form a heady stew of uneasy listening! To wit: we get the Bon Jovi style aesthetics of Horror For Hire contrasted with the Rob Zombie style Shake The Baby Silent (check out the video below)… hell we even get a disco piece, in the form of Zombimbo, that would have been right at home on KISS’ Dynasty album from 1979… and speaking of KISS, their frontman, the starchild himself Paul Stanley even co-wrote one of this album’s tunes; Like a Bee to the Honey (which is also featured below in that sweet video format that is all the rage with the youth of today)!

The reason all of this insanity works so damn well is that Lordi are both incredibly talented and incredibly game to take a fun concept and run with it until it reaches an amazingly entertaining conclusion, and Killection exemplifies that to it’s fullest!




Killection tracklist:

01. Radio SCG10
02. Horror For Fire
03. Shake The Baby Silent
04. Like A Bee To The Honey
05. Apollyon
06. SCG10 The Last Hour
07. Blow My Fuse
08. I Dug A Hole In The Yard For You
09. Zombimbo
10. Up To No Good
11. SCG10 Demonic Semitones
12. Cutterfly
13. Evil
14. Scream Demon
15. SCG10 I Am Here



Share This Article

You May Also Like…